30 years of hurt

Hola. Hope you are well.

It’s 30 years since the miners’ strike. It’s such a long time ago, I was only in primary school at the time. Despite not knowing what trade unions did, I knew I supported Arthur Scargill and not Mrs Thatcher. Maybe I’d been brought up on too many fairy tales and so favoured the underdog. Or maybe the miners coal caked faces resonated with me because of my complexion. Or maybe as a child I instinctively knew the economical and social implications of destroying an industry, communities and tearing families apart.

Anyway I digress, I only mention the miners’ strike because 30 years on and whilst I still don’t know that much more about the inner workings of trade unions, I instinctively liked Bob Crow. He struck me as someone who stood up for his members, normal working people.

Whilst Boris Johnson, for example, was basking in the glory of London hosting the Olympics, Bob Crow was making sure the tube workers would get paid for the extra work they’d be doing. Perhaps this should be the true legacy of the games.

Til next time, stay safe!

@anunknowncomic

Prongcast

Leave a Reply

