Im not a property developer

Hola. Hope you are well.

If you live in London there is always some talk about housing and house prices. This was added to recently after Mark Carney the Governor of the Bank of England spoke of his concerns about continuing price rises.

I’m not a property developer, I don’t have a property portfolio, I don’t even own the property I live in, so what I’m about to say might be without foundation (deliberate pun).

From what I can see property prices/renting is so expensive, especially in London is because there’s a lot more people requiring housing than there are available houses, so my first solution would be to build more houses.

The reason the problem is more apparent in London is because a lot of people gravitate to the capital for work. This obviously creates a demand for housing, pushing prices up. This then affects those that aren’t on a big wage, meaning they struggle to live. With this in mind, my second solution would be to encourage investment/industry in other parts of the country so people wouldn’t have to move to london for work. It would also stimulate the economies in areas of the country that need it and more equally distribute the country’s wealth.

As I said at the outset, I’m not an expert on these matters so feel free to agree or disagree. You can contact me via the comments button or on twitter @anunknowncomic

Til next week, stay safe!

Prongcasts

Leave a comment